European-Philippine Business Summit 2019

Marriott Grand Ballroom

Membership Meeting & Forum

2019 has so far been an exciting year for the European-Philippine business community. It marks the first anniversary of the implementation of the landmark Ease of Doing Business Law and welcomes the 18th Congress with its list of legislative economic priorities. Steady macroeconomic fundamentals as well as the administration’s plans and pronouncements concerning economic reforms also open opportunities for further trade and investments. Furthermore, the ECCP aims to build upon the achievements of the past years in making the Philippine business environment friendlier for European companies and ensuring that these businesses can make the most of these exciting developments.

In this context, the ECCP is organizing its European-Philippines Business Summit (EPBS) with the theme: “Trade, Investment, and Development: Building the Future Together” on 24 October 2019, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM, at the Marriott Grand Ballroom. Now on its sixth year, this flagship event of ECCP will gather high-level representations from the government, the private sector, academe, and various stakeholders keen on strengthening the European-Philippine economic relations. This year’s EPBS will also feature sessions on:

7:30 AM-8:30 AM Registration
8;30 AM-8:35 AM Welcome Remarks Mr. Nabil Francis confirmed
President, European Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines (ECCP)
8:35 AM-8:45 AM EU-PH Investment, Trade and Development Nexus Head of Delegation, Delegation of the European Union to the Philippines
Keynote Address
The keynote address will take place in the presence of the European-Philippines business community, members of the diplomatic corps, and other high-level representation from the government and the private sector. The keynote address will focus on the economic performance of the country in 2018, and how European-Philippine trade and investments have played a role in sustainable development.
8:45 AM-9:00 AM Hon. Ramon M. Lopez
Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry
The Filipino Dream: Realizing AmbisyonNatin 2040
The government’s roadmap for a matatag, maginhawa, at panatag na buhay in the next 25 years will be a growth story of the government, the private sector, civil society, and the Filipino public. This part will provide insights on how this medium-term socioeconomic plan will be achieved from a development lens by one of the leading development institutions in the country.
9:10 AM-9:20 AM Mr. Kelly Bird
Country Director for the Philippines, Asian Development Bank
Political Economy: On Regional Integration and Investment Policies
In recent years, Southeast Asia is fast becoming a point of interest of geopolitical activity among emerging markets and developing countries as it seeks to close its divides and promote closer linkages. This discussion will center on the recent political and economic developments around the region and its implications to the Philippines’ overall growth and performance as well as its Doing Business climate.
9:20 AM-9:30 AM Mr. Chris Humphrey confirmed
Executive Director, EU-ASEAN Business Council
9:30 AM-10:00 AM Panel Discussion and Open Forum
The private sector will be a key partner to government efforts in achieving inclusive growth and sustainable development. This session will showcase overviews of different focus sectors, recent issues and developments, government interventions, as well as the industry’s path forward. Best practices and innovations in these sectors as well as emerging trends will be featured.
Human Capital: Future-Proofing Filipino Talent 
10:00 AM-10:15 AM Hon. Silvestre Bello III confirmed
Secretary, Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE)
10:15 AM-10:25 AM Atty. Eliseo Zuñiga confirmed
Co-chairperson, ECCP Human Capital Committee
10:25 AM-10:35 AM Industry Representative (Open for Sponsorship)
10:35 AM-10:50 AM Dr. Mario Villaverde, MPH, MPM, CESO I confirmed
Undersecretary for Health Policy and Systems Development, Department of Health (DOH)
10:50 AM-11:00 AM Mr. Rommel Abuda confirmed
Chairperson, ECCP Healthcare Committee
11:00 AM-11:10 AM Industry Representative (Open for Sponsorship)
Captain’s Forum 
11:10 AM-12:00 NN Hon. Silvestre Bello III, DOLE Secretary confirmed
Dr. Mario Villaverde , DOH Undersecretary for Health Policy and Systems Development confirmed
Atty. Eliseo Zuñiga, ECCP Human Capital Committee Chairperson confirmed
Mr. Rommel Abuda, ECCP Healthcare Committee Chairperson confirmed
Industry Representative (Open for Sponsorship)
12:00 NN-1:00 PM Lunch
Transportation and Infrastructure: Building for Resilience 
1:00 PM-1:15 PM Hon. Arthur Tugade
Secretary, Department of Transportation (DOTr)
1:15 PM-1:25 PM Mr. Michael Raeuber
Chairperson, ECCP Infrastructure and Transportation Committee
1:25 PM-1:35 PM Industry Representative (Open for Sponsorship)
Energy and Environment: Towards a Clean and Green Philippines 
1:35 PM-1:50 PM Hon. Roy Cimatu
Secretary, Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR)
1:50 PM-2:00 PM Mr. Kristoffer Rada confirmed
Chairperson, ECCP Environment and Water Committee
2:00 PM-2:10 PM Industry Representative (Open for Sponsorship) 
Captain’s Forum
2:10 PM-3:00 PM Hon. Arthur Tugade, DOTr Secretary
Hon. Roy Cimatu, DENR Secretary
Mr. Michael Raeuber, ECCP Infrastructure and Transportation Committee Chairperson
Mr. Kristoffer Rada, ECCP Environment and Water Committee Chairperson confirmed
Industry Representative (Open for Sponsorship)
This session will feature policy insights on how the government will address the country’s competitiveness and stimulate vigorous economic growth and development in the coming years through improving the efficiency of the delivery of government services and the proposed corporate income tax and incentives reform law.
Ease of Doing Business: Key to Competitiveness 
3:00 PM-3:15 PM Atty. Jeremiah Belgica
Director General, Anti-Red Tape Authority
3:15 PM-3:35 PM Panel Reactors:
Hon. Alicia Dela Rosa-Bala, Civil Service Commission Chairperson confirmed
Mr. Guillermo Luz, Former National Competitiveness Council Co-Chairperson
3:35 PM-3:55 PM Open Forum
Towards a Competitive Fiscal Regime 
3:55 PM-4:15 PM Hon. Carlos Dominguez III
Secretary, Department of Finance
4:15 PM-4:40 PM Open Forum
Closing Keynote Speech
4:40 PM-5:00 PM Legislating for Inclusive and Sustainable Development
Hon. Juan Miguel Zubiri
Majority Floor Leader, Senate of the Philippines


Human Capital

Infrastructure and Trasportation

Energy and Environment

Finally, the handover of the 2019 ECCP Advocacy Papers will highlight the conference as ECCP shares its highly anticipated wishlist of policy reforms to further create a level playing field and ease doing business in the country.


PHP 5,500

ECCP Members

PHP 6,500


PHP 2,000


PHP 50,000

Executive Table
(Good for 10 persons)

* Full payment is required three days prior to the day of the event. Unpaid attendees will not be granted access to the event.

** No shows will be billed at full cost. Cancellations must be made at least 48 hours before the event.

Register Now!


Experience the following mileages with the European-Philippine Business Summit:






For more information please contact Ms. Meluz Malantic
via or call (+632) 845-1326

Click here for the Event Brief and Sponsorship Package